Fabio Pusateri has been awarded the inaugural Antonio Ambrosetti Medal for outstanding contributions to nonlinear analysis

The Antonio Ambrosetti medal is awarded in memory of Antonio Ambrosetti, who was one of the first three Professors at SISSA since the foundation of the School in 1980, then appointed Professor at Scuola Normale Superiore in the years 1986-1998,  and subsequently again Professor at SISSA since 1998 to 2012. The Medal is awarded by SISSA, with the support of Scuola Normale   Superiore, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Unione Matematica Italiana (UMI). Antonio Ambrosetti made several groundbreaking contributions to mathematical analysis, ranging from critical point theory, variational and topological methods, bifurcation theory, with applications in Hamiltonian systems and geometry. He is one of the founders with Giovanni Prodi of the Italian school of nonlinear analysis, with far-reaching influences in various areas of Mathematics. Simple and powerful geometric ideas standing at the basis of his approach allowed remarkable, and sometimes unexpected developments with numerous applications in differential equations. The medal recognizes exceptionally promising young researchers who have already made outstanding contributions to the fields of nonlinear analysis.

The Ambrosetti medal will be awarded every two years starting from 2021.

The information on the procedure, deadlines and other regulations

Winners 2021
Fabio Pusateri in recognition of his ground-breaking contributions in the area of nonlinear partial differential equations, like free boundary water waves equations, nonlinear Schrodinger and wave equations, soliton solutions. In particular, in a series of substantial papers, he succeeded in constructing the first classes of global solutions to the Cauchy problem for 2d gravity and 3d gravity-capillary water waves equations with decaying initial data, as well as long-time existence results for space periodic waves.
Po-Lam Yung in recognition of his work regarding fundamental properties of Sobolev spaces. Most notably, for a new characterization of Sobolev norms and for introducing new tools to prove and generalize inequalities of critical type à la Bourgain-Brezis. His skills in harmonic analysis allow him to attack successfully a wide class of relevant topics, ranging from nonlinear evolution equations to problems of complex-analytic nature.
Selection Committee
Prof. Massimiliano Berti  (SISSA)

Prof. Vittorio Coti Zelati  (Università Federico II, Napoli), for SISSA

Prof. Veronica Felli  (UMI)

Prof. Andrea Malchiodi  (SNS)

Prof. Carlo Sbordone  (Accademia dei Lincei)

SISSA extends its congratulations to this year’s prize winners and for their continued contributions to mathematics.