Michael Groechenig and Sander Kupers have been awarded Sloan Research Fellowships

March 2, 2022 by Alfred P. Solan Foundation

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation congratulates the winners of the 2022 Sloan Research Fellowships. These 118 early-career scholars represent the most promising scientific researchers working today. Their achievements and potential place them among the next generation of scientific leaders in the U.S. and Canada. Winners receive $75,000, which may be spent over a two-year term on any expense supportive of their research.


  • Charlotte Chan, University of Michigan
  • Yuxin Chen, University of Pennsylvania
  • Lei Chen, University of Maryland, College Park
  • Asaf Ferber, University of California, Irvine
  • Chao Gao, The University of Chicago
  • Michael Groechenig, University of Toronto, Mississauga
  • Daniel Halpern-Leistner, Cornell University
  • Jingyin Huang, Ohio State University
  • Ilya Kachkovskiy, Michigan State University
  • Alexander Kupers, University of Toronto Scarborough
  • Yuchen Liu, Northwestern University
  • Frederick R. W. M. Manners, University of California, San Diego
  • Guido F. Montúfar, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Connor R. Mooney, University of California, Irvine
  • Jonathan Niles-Weed, New York University
  • Lisa Sauermann, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Tatyana Shcherbina, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Li-Cheng Tsai, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Ruixiang Zhang, University of California, Berkeley
  • Andrew Zimmer, University of Wisconsin, Madison